About the institution

Experiencing art - Moving art appealing to all your senses.

Liveliness, laughter and the pleasure of discovery. A museum that sets the senses in motion and where the art comes to the viewer.

With his kinetic artworks, Jean Tinguely (1925-1991) was a pioneering figure in the art of the period after 1950. Museum Tinguely, designed by Mario Botta, is located directly at the Rhine and presents the world's largest collection of his work, of which a selection is on permanent display, from the delicate early reliefs to the monumental machine sculptures of the 1980s.

Museum Tinguely shows a varied temporary exhibition programme that seeks dialogue with other artists, art forms and disciplines, promising an interactive museum experience for all of the senses.

A diverse programme of events - with guided tours and workshops for all age groups, concerts, artistic interventions and interdisciplinary cooperations - allows visitors to experience the museum's collection and exhibitions in a wide range of ways.

The Luminator at the Euroairport
Jean Tinguely's Luminator was designed in 1991 for the Kulturgüterzug Kulturgüterzug ("train of cultural goods”), an exhibition organized by Klaus Littmann at Messe Basel in June of that year. For the exhibition artists such as Daniel Spoerri, Bernhard Luginbühl and Eva Aeppli each designed a goods wagon. After the exhibition the sculpture was bought by the Swiss Bank Coperation. Following Tinguely's death on 30 August 1991 and in accordance with his own express wish and proposal, the Luminator was installed in the entrance hall of the Swiss Railway station in Basel, where it greeted visitors to the city for many years. In 2005 it was donated by the UBS (Union Bank of Switzerland with which the SBC had merged) to Museum Tinguely. It now stands at the Euroairport, thus fulfilling Tinguely's intention that it should enjoy the greatest possible degree of public exposure.

Website

www.tinguely.ch

Address

Paul Sacher-Anlage 1 | 4002 Basel
T +41 (0)61 681 93 20 | Fax +41 (0)61 681 93 21
infos@tinguely.ch

bus 31/36/38/42 > Tinguely-Museum
Map map.search.ch

Disabled visitors

Wheelchair accessible

Service

shop, restaurant

Admission

CHF 18.-/12.-

Museums-Pass Free admission
Swiss Museum Pass Free admission
colourkey Free admission

Opening hours

Tue - Sun 11 - 18 h

Special opening hours

Christmas/New Year
24.12.2018: 11 - 15 h
25.12.2018: closed
26.12.2018: 11 - 18 h
31.12.2018: 11 - 16 h
01.01.2019: 11 - 18 h

Museum Tinguely with Schwimmwasserplastik by Jean Tinguely in the Solitude Park (view from the west) © Photo: 2015, Museum Tinguely Basel,  Serge Hasenböhler
Museum Tinguely with Schwimmwasserplastik by Jean Tinguely in the Solitude Park (view from the west) © Photo: 2015, Museum Tinguely Basel, Serge Hasenböhler

Zur Institution

Erlebnisraum Kunst

Lebendigkeit, Lachen, Staunen, Entdecken: Ein Museum, das die Sinne in Bewegung setzt und in dem die Kunst zum Betrachter kommt.

Mit seinen kinetischen Kunstwerken zählt Jean Tinguely (1925-1991) zu den wichtigen Wegbereitern der Kunst nach 1950. Das von Mario Botta entworfene Museum liegt direkt am Rhein und präsentiert die weltweit grösste Sammlung seiner Werke. Daraus wird permanent eine Auswahl gezeigt: von den frühen, filigranen Reliefs bis zu den monumentalen Maschinenskulpturen der 1980er Jahre.

Das Museum Tinguely zeigt ein vielseitiges Sonderausstellungsprogramm, das den Dialog mit anderen Künstlern, Kunstformen und Wissenschaften sucht. Dabei steht ein interaktives Museumserlebnis für alle Sinne im Zentrum.

Ein abwechslungsreiches Veranstaltungsprogramm mit Führungen und Workshops für alle Altersklassen, mit Konzerten, künstlerischen Interventionen und interdisziplinären Kooperationen bietet die Möglichkeit, die Sammlung und Ausstellungen auf vielfältige Weise zu erfahren.

Der Luminator am Euroairport
Jean Tinguely schuf den Luminator 1991 anlässlich des Kulturgüterzuges, einer von Klaus Littmann organisierten Ausstellung in der Messe Basel im Juni desselben Jahres: Künstler wie Daniel Spoerri, Bernhard Luginbühl und Eva Aeppli gestalteten dafür jeweils einen Bahnwagen. Der damalige Schweizerische Bankverein kaufte den Luminator im Anschluss an die Ausstellung. Nach Tinguelys Tod am 30. August 1991 wurde die Lampenskulptur in der grossen Eingangshalle des Basler Bahnhofs SBB installiert, so wie es Tinguely noch zu Lebzeiten gewünscht und angeregt hatte. Dort empfing der Luminator über viele Jahre die Besucher Basels. 2005 schenkte die UBS (hervorgegangen aus dem Schweizerischen Bankverein) die Skulptur dem Museum Tinguely. Die neue Platzierung am Euroairport entspricht dabei Tinguelys Wunsch nach einem Standort von grösstmöglicher Öffentlichkeit.

Webseite

www.tinguely.ch

Adresse

Paul Sacher-Anlage 1 | 4002 Basel
T +41 (0)61 681 93 20 | Fax +41 (0)61 681 93 21
infos@tinguely.ch

Bus 31/36/38/42 > Tinguely-Museum
Karte auf map.search.ch

Behinderte

rollstuhlgängig

Service

Shop, Restaurant

Eintrittspreise

CHF 18.-/12.-

Museums-Pass-Musées Eintritt frei
Schweizer Museumspass Eintritt frei
colourkey Eintritt frei

Öffnungszeiten

Di - So 11 - 18 h

Besondere Öffnungszeiten

Weihnachten/Neujahr
24.12.2018: 11 - 15 h
25.12.2018: geschlossen
26.12.2018: 11 - 18 h
31.12.2018: 11 - 16 h
01.01.2019: 11 - 18 h

Ostern
11.03.2019: geschlossen
12.03.2019: 11 - 17 h
13.03.2019: 11 - 17 h

1. Mai
01.05.2019: 11 - 18 h

Auffahrt
30.05.2019: 11 - 18 h

Pfingsten
09.06.2019: 11 - 18 h
10.06.2019: 09 - 19 h

Art Basel
10.06.2019: 09 - 19 h
11.06.2019: 09 - 19 h
12.06.2019: 09 - 19 h
13.06.2019: 09 - 19 h
14.06.2019: 09 - 19 h
15.06.2019: 09 - 19 h
16.06.2019: 09 - 19 h

1. August (Nationalfeiertag)
01.08.2019: 11 - 18 h

Museum Tinguely mit Schwimmwasserplastik von Jean Tinguely im Solitude Park (Westansicht) © Foto: 2015, Museum Tinguely Basel,  Serge Hasenböhler
Museum Tinguely mit Schwimmwasserplastik von Jean Tinguely im Solitude Park (Westansicht) © Foto: 2015, Museum Tinguely Basel, Serge Hasenböhler